Tony Awards 2022 Full rundown of candidates and victors

News For Update

tony awards 2022 nominations

Tony Awards 2022 Full rundown of candidates and victors


The 75th annual Tony Awards are being held Sunday night to honor the best performances in the theater industry, after a two-year hiatus caused by Broadway. Covid-19 worldwide. The event is being held at the Radio City Music Hall in New York City and will be hosted by Academy Award winner and Tony Award nominee Ariana Debose.

“A Strange Loop” comes in at night with 11 nominations, the most for any show. "MJ: The Musical" and "Paradise Square" each scored their own 10 nominations.

The show will feature music from "The Music Man", "A Strange Loop," "Company" and more. Among those nominated for the award are Samuel L. Jackson, David Alan Grier, Skylar Astin and Cynthia Erivo.

The show will air on CBS and will start at Paramount + 8 pm ET. For the first time, the show will be broadcast live on the West Coast. The show was preceded by a streaming-exclusive special, "The Tony Awards: Act One," hosted by Darren Criss and Julianne Hough, hosted on Paramount +.


The best new musical

"Girl from the North"


"Mr. Saturday Night"

"Paradise Square"

"Six: The Musical"

"A strange loop"


The best musical revival

"Caroline, or change"


"The Music Man"


The best new game



"The Lehman Trilogy"


"skeleton crew"


Best Play Revival

"American Buffalo"

"For girls of color who think of suicide / when the rainbow is NF"

"How I Learned to Drive"

"Take me away"



The best musical book

Christina Anderson, Craig Lucas and Larry Kirwan, "Paradise Square"

Billy Crystal, Loyal Ganj and Babalu Mandel, "Mr. Saturday Night"

Michael R. Jackson, "A Strange Loop"

Connor McPherson, "Girl from the North"

Lynn Notage, "MJ"


Best original score

"Six: The Musical," Music and Lyrics: Toby Marlowe and Lucy Moss - Winners

"Flying Over Sunset," music by Tom Kit; Lyrics by Michael Corey

"Mr. Saturday Night," music by Jason Robert Brown; Song by Amanda Green

"Paradise Square," music by Jason Howland and Larry Kirwan; The lyrics were written by Nathan Tysen and Aunt Asare

"A Strange Loop," Music Lyrics: Michael R. Jackson


The best management of a play

Sam Mendes, The Lehman Trilogy - Winner

Liliana Blaine-Cruz, "The Skin of Our Teeth"

Camille A. Brown, "For Color Girls Who Have Considered Suicide / When The Rainbow Is Enough"

Neil Pepe, "American Buffalo"

Les Waters, "Dana H."


The best management of a musical

Stephen Brackett, "A Strange Loop"

Marianne Elliott, “Company”

Connor McPherson, "Girl from the North"

Jamie Armitage and Lucy Moss , "Six: The Musical"

Christopher Wheldon, "MJ"


The best lead actor in a play

Simon Russell Biel, "The Lehman Trilogy"

Adam Godley, The Lehman Trilogy

Adrian Lester, "The Lehman Trilogy"

David Morse, "How I Learned to Drive"

Sam Rockwell, "American Buffalo"

Ruben Santiago-Hudson, "Lacawanna Blues"

David Threllfall, "Hangman"


Best lead actress in a play

Gabby Beans, "The Skin of Our Teeth"

"Mental problems"

Ruth Nega, "Macbeth"

Deirdre O’Connell, “Dana. H ”

Mary-Lewis Parker, "How I Learned to Drive"


The best lead actor in a musical

Billy Crystal, "Mr. Saturday Night"

Miles Frost, "MJ"

Hugh Jackman, "The Music Man"

Rob McClure, "Mrs. Doubtfire"

Jackal Spivey, “A Strange Loop”


Best Lead Actress in a Musical

Sharon D. Clark, "Caroline, Or Change."

Carmen Cusack, "Flying Over Sunset"

Sutton Foster, "The Music Man"

Joaquina Kalukango, "Paradise Square"

Mary Winningham, "Girl from the North"



The best-selling actor in a play

Jesse Tyler Ferguson, "Take Me Out" - the winner

Alfie Allen, "Hangman"

Chuck Cooper, "Mental Problems"

Ron Cephas Jones, "Clydes"

Michael Oberholtzer, "Take Me Out"

Jesse Williams, "Take Me Out"


Best featured actress in a play

Uzo Aduba, "Clydes"

Rachel Drach, "Potash"

Kenita R. Miller, "For Girls Of Color Who Consider Suicide / When The Rainbow Is Enough"

Felicia Rashad, "Skeleton Crew"

Julie White, "Potash"

Cara Young, "Clydes"


Best Actor in a Musical

Matt Doyle, “Company”

Sidney Dupont, "Paradise Square"

Jared Grimes, “Funny Girl”

John-Andrew Morrison, "A Strange Loop"

AJ Shiveli, "Paradise Square"


Best featured actress in musicals

Patti Lupon, "Company" - Winner

Janet Beardale, "Girl from the North"

Shoshna Bin, "Mr. Saturday Night"

Jane Houdishell, "The Music Man"

El Morgan Lee, "A Strange Loop"

Jennifer Simard, “Company”


The best scenic design of a play

S. Devlin, "The Lehman Trilogy" - Winner

Beowulf Borit, "Potash"

Anna Fleisel, "Hangman"

Michael Carnahan and Nicholas Hussein, "Skeleton Crew"

Scott Pask, "American Buffalo"

Adam Rigg, “The Skin of Our Teeth”


The best visual design of a musical instrument

Bani Christie, "Company" - Winner

Beowulf Borit and 59 Productions, "Flying Over Sunset"

Arnulfo Maldonado, “A Strange Loop”

Derek McLane and Peter Negrini, "MJ"

Alan Moyer, "Paradise Square"


The best costume design for a play

Montana Levi Blanco, "The Skin of Our Teeth" - the winner

Sarafina Bush, "For Color Girls Who Consider Suicide / When The Rainbow Is Enough"

Jane Greenwood, "Plaza Suite"

Jennifer Moeller, "Clydes"

Emilio Sosa, "Skeleton Crew"


The best musical costume design

Gabriela Slade, "Six: The Musical" - the winner

Fly Davis, "Caroline, Or Change"

Tony-Leslie James, "Paradise Square"

William Ivy Long, "Diana, The Musical"

Santo Locusto, "The Music Man"

Paul Tazewell, "MJ"


The best lighting design in a play

John Clarke, "The Lehman Trilogy" - Winner

Joshua Carr, "Hangman"

Xi'an Chang, "For Colorful Girls Who Think Suicide / When The Rainbow Is Enough"

Jane Cox, "Macbeth"

E Zhao, "the skin of our teeth"


A musical best lighting design

Natasha Katz, "MJ" - the winner

Neil Austin, “Company”

Tim Dealing, "Six: The Musical"

Donald Holder, "Paradise Square"

Bradley King, "Flying Over Sunset"

Jane Shriver, "A Strange Loop"


The best sound design of a play

Mikhail Fixel, "Dana H." - Winner

Nick Powell and Dominic Bilkey, "The Lehman Trilogy"

Justin Ellington, "For Color Girls Who Have Considered Suicide / When The Rainbow Is Enough"

Palmer Heferan, "The Skin of Our Teeth"

Mikal Sulaiman, "Macbeth"


The best sound design in musical

Gareth Wayne, "MJ" - the winner

Simon Baker, "Girl from the North"

Ian Dickinson, "Company" for Autograph

Paul Gatehouse, "Six: The Musical"

Drew Levy, "A Strange Loop"



The best choreography

Christopher Wheldon, "MJ" - winner

Camille A. Brown, "For Color Girls Who Have Considered Suicide / When The Rainbow Is Enough"

Warren Carlyle, "The Music Man"

Carrie-An Ingruil, "Six: The Musical"

Bill T. Jones, "Paradise Square"

The best orchestration

Simon Hale, "Girl from the North" - the winner

David Cullen, “Company”

Tom Quran, "Six: The Musical"

Jason Michael Webb and David Holsenberg, "MJ"

Charlie Rosen, "A Strange Loop"

Source: online News site

Post a Comment


Post a Comment (0)